ASS Maschinenbau

Successful on the market

since 1983

Sales

about 16 Millionen Euro

Leading in

Production and development of gripper parts, robot hands and automation equipment

Our task

Digitization and mapping of the product catalog for the ASS robot hand kit

The company ASS Maschinenbau develops intelligent solutions for various tasks in the fields of automation and robotics worldwide. In the past, ASS sales were carried out classically by field service, partners and catalogues. In addition, an online shop existed until 2008, but its maintenance effort was not worthwhile in relation to the revenue and was therefore taken offline.

However, global digitalization now required an online shop to ensure the continued growth and competitiveness of ASS - and to promote it beyond. In addition, the competitive pressure from imitators abroad was increasing. SUNZINET was therefore given the task of mapping the product catalogue for the ASS robot hand construction kit in an online shop. The goal: A service platform that offers the customer an easily accessible and comprehensive product overview. At the same time, the new shop should be available to external sales and partners as a knowledge hub and support them in their daily work.

ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET

The challenge

Shopware standard search cannot process complex item numbers

In order to offer the individual articles of the robot hand construction kit for online purchase, around 1,900 components in 270 product families had to be digitized and integrated into the Shopware 6 shop system. Here, the individual item numbers consisted of a sequence of digits with separators that could not be processed as desired in the Shopware standard search. Even a Shopware update to a new version, which actually promised more configuration options, could not solve the problem with the product search.

  • ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Mechanical Engineering Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • Our solution

    Integration of the Doofinder tool in Shopware for optimized product search

    We integrated the Doofinder tool into the Shopware shop system to implement a product search with numerous configuration options and according to the requirements. This allowed us, for example, to customize the search based on the item numbers and thus fulfill an important component of the online shop. In addition, the collected product data from the PIM system is transferred directly into Shopware via an Apache-NiFi interface. In addition, we implemented the shop as a closed shop: Relevant product data, prices as well as the purchase function are only available or possible after registration. Accordingly, a registration is necessary for each new customer, the customer access is managed via sub-accounts. Through these sub-accounts, ASS customers can independently create any number of sub-accounts for their employees - without renewed approval by ASS.

    Furthermore, we tested the various requirements for the new shop from the beginning with an out-of-the-box solution. As a result, there was always a make-or-buy decision before the actual implementation. Accordingly, we only implemented our own development in those areas where the available standard solutions did not meet the requirements. Finally, a closed beta phase took place before the shop launch: Our customer ASS was given the opportunity to thoroughly test the shop itself and then provide feedback. We took the feedback into account before the go-live and implemented it accordingly. Subsequently, the ASS shop was launched as a Minium-Viable-Product (MVP), the smallest functional iteration of a shop. With this, the webshop already covers the basic requirements and can be continuously extended with further features - which are already being planned by us.

    smartphone
    ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau

    The result

    From print to online product catalog

    Thanks to the particularly close cooperation with the various ASS departments, we were able to launch the new online shop, including the Apache-NiFi interface and other features, after only 6 months of project work. This was also due to the excellent cooperation with the customer's IT department, which provided us with the necessary data, among other things. The new online shop has a clearly structured product overview, which provides the user with a comprehensive overview of the entire ASS product range. This product overview also supports the ASS field sales as an important information hub and service platform. For example, the field sales team now guides potential customers digitally through the product range - previously this was done via a print product catalog. So here a fundamental digitalization took place according to the textbook: From classic print to digital.

    In addition, the new shop significantly eases the burden on customer service, as customers can now obtain a lot of information online - e.g. product information, downloads of instructions, CAD files). This also increases the quality of customer service inquiries. Shortly after going live, the user feedback on the new shop, its functions and usability is very positive - among other things, new registrations are recorded daily.

    Our partnership with ASS Maschinenbau does not end here, on the contrary: numerous further developments are planned, such as the integration of CAD models into the product detail pages and the connection of further systems to the shop.

    About ASS Maschinenbau

    ASS Maschinenbau GmbH was founded in 1983. In the meantime, around 120 employees in Overath and partners worldwide develop intelligent solutions for various tasks in the fields of automation and robotics. The product range includes gripper parts, robot hands, automation systems, PA forming, FVK handling, image processing systems and is rounded off by our services. ASS offers customized solutions around injection molding and automation for manufacturers and suppliers of the automotive and plastic injection molding industry.

    ASS Maschinenbau

ASS Maschinenbau

Erfolgreich am Markt

seit 1983

Umsatz

rund 16 Millionen Euro

Führend in

Produktion und Entwicklung von Greiferteilen, Roboterhänden und Automationsanlagen

Unsere Aufgabe

Digitalisierung und Abbildung des Produktkatalogs für den ASS-Roboterhandbaukasten

Das Unternehmen ASS Maschinenbau entwickelt weltweit intelligente Lösungen für verschiedene Aufgabenstellungen aus den Bereichen Automation und Robotik. In der Vergangenheit erfolgte der ASS-Vertrieb klassisch per Außendienst, Partner und Katalog. Zudem bestand bis 2008 ein Onlineshop, dessen Pflegeaufwand sich allerdings im Verhältnis zum Ertrag nicht lohnte und deshalb offline genommen wurde.

Allerdings erforderte die globale Digitalisierung nun einen Onlineshop, um das Wachstum und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Unternehmens ASS weiterhin zu gewährleisten – und darüber hinaus zu fördern. Zusätzlich stieg der Wettbewerbsdruck durch Nachahmer im Ausland. Deshalb erhielt SUNZINET die Aufgabe, den Produktkatalog für den ASS-Roboterhandbaukasten in einem Onlineshop abzubilden. Das Ziel: Eine Service-Plattform, die dem Kunden eine leicht zugängliche und umfangreiche Produktübersicht bietet. Zugleich soll der neue Shop den Außenvertrieb und Partnern als Wissenshub zur Verfügung stehen und in ihrer täglichen Arbeit unterstützen.

ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET

Die Herausforderung

Shopware-Standardsuche kann komplexe Artikelnummern nicht verarbeiten

Um die einzelnen Artikel des Roboterhandbaukastens für den Onlinekauf anzubieten, mussten rund 1.900 Komponenten in 270 Produktfamilien digitalisiert und in das Shopsystem Shopware 6 integriert werden. Hierbei bestanden die einzelnen Artikelnummern aus einer Ziffernfolge mit Trennzeichen, die in der Shopware-Standardsuche nicht wie gewünscht verarbeitet werden konnten. Selbst ein Shopware-Update auf eine neue Version, was eigentlich mehr Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten versprach, konnte das Problem mit der Produktsuche nicht beheben.

  • ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • ASS Maschinenbau Onlineshop | SUNZINET
  • Unsere Lösung

    Integration des Tools Doofinder in Shopware für optimierte Produktsuche

    Wir integrierten das Tool Doofinder in das Shopsystem Shopware, um eine Produktsuche mit zahlreichen Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten und entsprechend den Anforderungen zu realisieren. Das ermöglichte uns beispielsweise, die Suche anhand der Artikelnummern anzupassen und somit eine wichtige Komponente des Onlineshops zu erfüllen. Außerdem werden die gesammelten Produktdaten aus dem PIM-System über eine Apache-NiFi-Schnittstelle direkt in Shopware übertragen. Zudem realisierten wir den Shop als Closed-Shop: Relevante Produktdaten, Preise sowie die Kauf-Funktion sind nur nach Anmeldung verfügbar bzw. möglich. Dementsprechend ist pro Neukunde eine Registrierung notwendig, der Kunden-Zugang wird über Unteraccounts verwaltet. Durch diese Unteraccounts können ASS-Kunden eigenständig beliebig viele Unteraccounts für ihre Mitarbeiter erstellen – ohne erneute Freigabe durch ASS.

    Des Weiteren haben wir die verschiedenen Forderungen an den neuen Shop von Beginn an mit einer Out-of-the-box-Lösung geprüft. Dadurch stand immer eine make-or-buy-Entscheidung vor der eigentlichen Implementierung. Dementsprechend implementierten wir nur an den Stellen eine Eigenentwicklung, bei welchen die verfügbaren Standardlösungen den Anforderungen nicht gerecht wurden. Vor dem Shop-Launch fand schließlich eine Closed-Beta-Phase statt: Unser Kunde ASS erhielt die Möglichkeit, den Shop selbst gründlich zu testen und anschließend Rückmeldung zu geben. Das Feedback berücksichtigten wir noch vor dem Go-Live und setzten es entsprechend um. Anschließend wurde der ASS-Shop als ein Minium-Viable-Product (MVP) gelauncht, die kleinste funktionsfähige Iteration eines Shops. Damit deckt der Webshop bereits die grundlegenden Anforderungen und kann fortwährend um weitere Features ergänzt werden – die bei uns bereits in Planung sind.

    smartphone
    ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau ASS Maschinenbau

    Das Ergebnis

    Vom Print- zum Online-Produktkatalog

    Dank der besonders engen Zusammenarbeit mit den verschiedenen ASS-Fachabteilungen gelang es uns, bereits nach 6 Monaten Projektlaufzeit den neuen Onlineshop inklusive Apache-NiFi-Schnittstelle und weiteren Features zu launchen. Dazu hat auch die hervorragende Zusammenarbeit mit der IT auf Kundenseite beigetragen, die uns u.a. die notwendigen Daten bereitgestellt hat. Der neue Onlineshop verfügt über eine klar strukturierte Produktübersicht, über welche der User einen umfangreichen Überblick zum gesamten Angebot von ASS erhält. Diese Produktübersicht unterstützt als wichtiger Informationshub und Service-Plattform ebenfalls den ASS-Außenvertrieb. Beispielsweise führt der Vertrieb im Außendienst den potenziellen Kunden nun digital durch die Produktpalette – zuvor ist das via Print-Produktkatalog geschehen. Hier fand also eine grundlegende Digitalisierung nach Lehrbuch statt: Von klassisch Print zu digital.

    Darüber hinaus entlastet der neue Shop deutlich den Kundenservice, da sich die Kunden jetzt viele Informationen bereits online entnehmen können – z.B. Produktinformationen, Downloads von Anleitungen, CAD-Dateien). Das erhöht zugleich die Qualität der Anfragen im Kundenservice. Bereits kurz nach Livegang lautet das User-Feedback zum neuen Shop, dessen Funktionen und Usability sehr positiv – unter anderem werden täglich neue Registrierungen verzeichnet.

     Unsere partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit ASS Maschinenbau endet hier nicht, im Gegenteil: Es sind zahlreiche Weiterentwicklungen geplant, wie z.B. eine Integration von CAD-Modellen in die Produktdetailseiten sowie die Anbindung weiterer Systeme an den Shop.

    Über ASS Maschinenbau

    ASS Maschinenbau GmbH wurde 1983 gegründet. Inzwischen entwickeln rund 120 Mitarbeiter in Overath und Partner weltweit intelligente Lösungen für verschiedene Aufgabenstellungen aus den Bereichen Automation und Robotik. Die Produktpalette umfasst Greiferteile, Roboterhände, Automationsanlagen, PA-Forming, FVK Handhabung, Bildverarbeitungssysteme und wird durch unsere Dienstleistungen abgerundet. ASS bietet bedarfsangepasste Lösungen rund um Spritzguss und Automatisierung für Hersteller und Zulieferer der Automobil- und Kunststoffspritzgussindustrie. 

    ASS Maschinenbau